Top 3 Nonfiction Hard Cover

Daring to Drive: A Saudi Woman’s Awakening by Manal Al-Sharif (Simon and Schuster $21.99) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
Daring to Drive is the fiercely intimate memoir of an accidental activist, a powerfully vivid story of a young Muslim woman who stood up to a kingdom of men—and won. Writing on the cusp of history, Manal offers a rare glimpse into the lives of women in Saudi Arabia today. Her memoir is a remarkable celebration of resilience in the face of tyranny, the extraordinary power of education and female solidarity, and the difficulties, absurdities, and joys of making your voice heard. A ferociously intimate memoir by a devout woman from a modest family in Saudi Arabia who became the unexpected leader of a courageous movement to support women’s right to drive.
The New Wild by Fred Pearce (Beacon Press $26.95) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
In The New Wild, Pearce goes on a journey across six continents to rediscover what conservation in the twenty-first century should be about. Pearce explores ecosystems from remote Pacific islands to the United Kingdom, from San Francisco Bay to the Great Lakes, as he digs into questionable estimates of the cost of invader species and reveals the outdated intellectual sources of our ideas about the balance of nature. Pearce acknowledges that there are horror stories about alien species disrupting ecosystems, but most of the time, the tens of thousands of introduced species usually swiftly die out or settle down and become model eco-citizens. The case for keeping out alien species, he finds, looks increasingly flawed.
Cattail Moonshine & Milkweed Medicine by Tammi Hartung (Storey $19.95) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
History, literature, and botany meet in this delightful tour of how humans have relied on plants to nourish, shelter, heal, clothe, and even entertain us. Did you know that During World War II, the US Navy paid kids to collect milkweed s fluffy white floss, which was then used as filling for life preservers? And Native Americans in the deserts of the Southwest traditionally crafted tattoo needles from prickly pear cactus spines. These are just two of the dozens of tidbits that Tammi Hartung highlights in the tales of 45 native North American flowers, herbs, and trees that have rescued and delighted us for centuries. A quick and easy read that will associate you with plants and their many uses!

Top 3 Young Adult Books

Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley (Knopf Books $17.99) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
Rachel’s two great loves are the ocean and her brother Cal. When the ocean takes Cal away the pain is unbearable causing her to drop out of year 12. It’s even harder than dealing with moving back to her old hometown and her first crush. Filled with literary details that will have every book lover sighing with happiness.  Perfect for lovers of words and the relationship between people and the part books play. This book will make you proud to be in the population of people who writes in the margins.
Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith (Delacorte Press $18.99) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
Everyone has their own definition of luck--good or bad. Alice doesn’t believe in good luck at all--but that doesn’t stop her from buying her best friend/crush--Teddy--a life altering lottery ticket. Winning changes everything and that is the last thing Alice wants, especially when she was finally ready to tell Teddy how she feels about him. Along with her cousin/brother Leo they are thrust into a new world where Teddy can buy and do anything he desires. Will he desire the right things for fall into the same downward spiral that his gambling father did? You can only run from who you really are for so long.
Wires and Nerve: Lunar Chronicles Series by Marissa Meyer, Ill by Doug Holgate (Feiwel and Friends $21.99) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
Jump back into the Lunar world or start your journey fresh if you don’t want to read the earlier books. This graphic novel picks up shortly after the last Lunar novel ends allowing you a little breathing room but not enough time to worry about what you may have missed. Narrated by our lovely Iko, you are surrounded by her wit and sass along with the dialogue you have come to expect from Meyer. A flawless transition from the novels to graphic novel interpretation. Marissa’s writing shines through Douglas Holgate’s illustrations.

Top 3 Paperback Fiction

The Ferryman Institute by Colin Gigl (Gallery Books $16.00) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
Technology may have changed, but the job is still the same -- luckily, Charon happened to figure out a way to make his job of ferrying souls into the afterlife way easier. He created The Ferryman Institute... Enter Charlie Dawson. Star Ferryman. 250 years of being an immortal Ferryman, and never once failing an assignment. The assignments aren’t always easy, but they always end with the main objective -- open a door to the Afterlife, convince the soul to enter of its own free will. Succeed, get another successful mark on your record. Fail, and the soul is doomed to wander the earth, haunting humans and causing problems as its existence slowly fades and is lost forever. But 250 years has had its toll on Charlie. His immortal life revolves around the sadness that is death. Men, women, young, old, accident, nature, self-inflicted... it’s all tragic, and its getting to him. That is until he is given the choice to save a soul instead of collect it. What follows is a crazy roller-coaster of action, adventure, and discovery... what is the purpose, the meaning, the point of living?
Slightly South of Simple by Kristy Woodson Harvey (Gallery Books $16.00) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
Peachtree is a place where Ansley raised her three daughters and where she is now happily settled. She is settled into a simple quiet life with all of her girls out in the world. However one by one they all start coming back for their own reasons: Caroline lives in NYC and her husband is having a very public affair, Emerson is an actress who has a new role that is shooting in Georgia and Sloane’s husband has been deployed to the Middle East. Ansley has spent years living on her own. Now having all of her daughters plus three grandchildren (with one on the way) at her home, wrecks havoc with her quiet life. Each character is refreshingly real and raw. Exploring the relationships between mothers, daughters, and sisters; all through that southern charm. This is a perfect read for those who miss the complicated family relationship novels by Anne Rivers Siddons and would also recommend for fans of Nancy Thayer and Elin Hilderbrand.
The North Water by Ian McGuire (Picador $16.00) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
The North Water reads like Jack London on steroids. It is an extremely visceral story of the final days of the whaling boom when, in order to hunt the ever dwindling herds of whales, ships would sail ever farther north, in seas with more ice than water. A single error in judgement could leave a ship stranded in the ice for months, or even years. In this setting we meet Henry Drax, a harpooner as harsh and violent as the name he bears, and Patrick Sumner, a former British Army surgeon whose avarice cost him his commission and any hopes of a respectable medical career.  Ian McGuire’s debut novel skillfully pits these two men against each other in a bleak and bitter landscape where there is truly no escape from the evil they encounter. A historical fiction that will draw you in and leave you cringing with the reality of life in the world where we hunted whales to the ends of the earth.

Top 3 Pennsylvania Books

Plain Meetinghouses of Lancaster by Beth Oberholtzer and John Herr (Schiffer Publishing Co $34.99) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
Old Order Mennonites are deeply faithful, agrarian-rooted, Swiss-German Anabaptist’s who have called Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, home for 300 years. Their meetinghouses silently embody their religious traditions, and yet few outsiders have seen the startling utilitarian beauty of these rural structures up close. The author and photographer were allowed rare access to 22 austere houses of worship. The result is a one-of-a-kind book featuring over 300 photos and diagrams that document all aspects of the meetinghouses, from the design of their benches and buggy sheds to the arrangement of tables central to worship. As fast-growing Lancaster County encroaches on the Old Order way of life, their communities are changing. This book is a record of an extraordinary religious heritage.
Site Assessment for Better Gardens and Landscaping by Charles P. Mazza (Plant and Life Science Publishing $19.90) Available at the Moravian Book Shop.
An in depth look at how to transform your backyard into the oasis you have always wanted it to be. Featuring tips, images, and soil breakdowns to help you choose the best plants for you backyard; as well as ways to avoid pests and critters. Comprised of detailed projects to help you create a backyard that you will use and treasure for years to come. No matter what you plan, sprucing things up, adding a hang out area with a pergola, or a total overhaul, this book will help you get there!
Pennsylvania: a Photographic Journey by Richard Nowitz (FarCountry Press $12.95) Available at the Moravian Book Shop. Click to order online or for more information.
Professional photographer Richard Nowitz takes readers to Pennsylvania’s best places in 113 color photographs. Through Nowitz’s lens, readers will love seeing the their favorite stops and the highlights they couldn’t pack into one visit: horses and buggies in Amish country, Philadelphia’s Independence Hall, a Battle of Gettysburg reenactment, the skyline of Pittsburgh from the top of the Duquesne Incline, and the beautiful Pocono Mountains. Informative captions with each picture tell of Pennsylvania’s hotspots, history, and culture. From the perennial favorites to the quirky detours on Pennsylvania’s backroads,